Election Information

General Municipal Elections

Elections are held in November of even numbered years, on dates authorized by laws governing municipal elections in Broward County. The City of Tamarac is divided into four (Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4), with one City Commissioner residing in each district. The Mayor of the City of Tamarac is elected at-large (Citywide) basis.

City Commission District Map

General Election Referendum Questions

On June 8, 2022, the Tamarac City Commission passed on second reading Ordinance O-2022-007 proposing amendments to the City Charter. Tamarac residents will vote on the following seven ballot measures during the November 8, 2022, General Election.

Click your preferred language to learn more: English | Spanish | Haitian Creole

Registering to Vote

Residents are encouraged to register to vote, or check their voter status, in advance of the election. The deadline to register as a first time voter is 29 days (October 11, 2022) prior to the election date. To register or check your voter registration status, visit www.registertovoteflorida.gov.

Election Dates 

Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022                                                        Municipal Election

Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2024                                                        Municipal Election

Where and When to Vote

To be announced.  

There are 22 Early Voting sites throughout Broward County, including one site located at the Tamarac Branch Library. Broward County registered voters can vote at any Early Voting location during Early Voting hours. For a full list of Early Voting site, please visit the Broward County Supervisor of Elections website at www.browardvotes.gov

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022, and polling locations are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Residents who vote in-person on Election Day MUST vote at their assigned polling location. The City of Tamarac has 24 polling locations located in neighborhoods throughout the city. To find your polling location, please visit www.browardvotes.gov. 

To request a domestic ballot by mail, please visit www.browardvotes.gov.  

2022/2024 Announced Candidate Information (As of May 3, 2022)

Qualifying period for the 2022 Election begins at noon, Monday, June 13, 2022 and promptly ends at noon, Friday, June 17, 2022. 

Mayor At-Large

Mike Gelin

Michelle J. Gomez

District 2

Alexandra N. Alvarez

Joseph Lanouette

Stuart R. Michelson

Tyneka M. Rene

Morey Wright

District 4

Kicia Daniel 

Carol Mendelson

David Witman Mountford

2024 Announced Candidate Information

District 1

Marlon D. Bolton 

District 3

Elvin Villalobos